Hospital again

Back in the hospital

I suppose my warranty is running out – this past month has been one I would like to forget. I have developed atrial fib and atrial flutter as well as congestive heart failure. This led to fluid buildup and kidney failure. I just got out of the hospital where I had two heart stents emplaced after extensive treatment to get my kidneys restarted – which worked. I lost forty pounds in ten days – mostly fluids. i do not recommend this as a weight loss method.
The blood thinners they gave me opened up old – and previously unknown – ulcers which required pretty massive blood transfusions. These ulcers were apparently caused by long-term use of strong NSAIDs (Naproxen, indomethecin, etc) which I used for my severe arthritis pain. Currently I cannot take either blood thinners – except a couple of baby aspirin a day – or any pain pills except narcotics -which I will not take. I’m going to try physical therapy.
I’m home from the hospital and getting around on my own. We are even planning on our annal move to Maine next summer – but I think we are going to need some help.
My wife and I have led active lives – lots of travel to almost every continent, building a cabin in Maine almost from scratch, working at a job we loved, sailing the Florida Keys for many years, the good life.
Next month will be our birthdays (84 and 88). We’ve observed a lot of history and enjoyed most of it.

2 Responses to “Hospital again”

  1. Bill Says:

    I’ll be praying for you.

  2. Michael F. Nyiri Says:

    Dear Dick,
    I applaud your stamina, gumption, and love of life. Prayers and positive energy are coming your way.
    Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

Leave a comment